Young Cynikal

I miss being a kid. Fond memories of coming home after school to take a nap and then watch Nickelodeon for the entire evening have been replaced with elements of deep responsibility and a plethora of serious activities. Not saying growing up is a bad thing, everybody needs to morph into their future self at some point, but it’s sad knowing that certain aspects of life are behind us forever. But as they say, when one door closes, another one opens.

Either way, I still take naps now and again, and if I had Sky in my flat, I’d still watch Nickelodeon – just to keep in touch with my inner child – the little guy (or girl) that still lives within us all.

One of my heroes, Michael Jackson, stated that children are unimaginably important to society, and we should seek to be more like them; not childish, but child-like, because within them lies a lot of truth, innocence, wonder and joy. I’m definitely going to try for as long as possible to keep that bond with my former self, because if it wasn’t for him, I wouldn’t be me.

