I’m not really certain whether I feel this way because of my nature, or because I should actually be unsatisfied, but either way that’s how I feel. Last night I performed at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club for a third time (thanks to Ruby Sings) – a feat which Hip Hop artists can’t often boast. It was great – great in the sense that for various reasons I had a good time before, during and after, but where I feel void is with my performance. I can do better.

We rocked the crowd, partially down to the brilliance of my band (The Street Orchestra), my amazing backing vocalist (Debbie Aramide), the songs, the overall vibe, and flashes of my better form, but for me that doesn’t mean anything if I don’t leave the stage feeling I performed to at least 90% of my capacity. There’s always that unobtainable-10%-margin down to being human, but I feel like I was a good 10% below that line; for me, that’s not good enough. I’m going to make sure I work harder in rehearsal, and out of rehearsal – the next show will be something.

